Tick Tocking

Did you know I once wanted to be a preschool teacher? I got out of high school and that wasn’t the only thing I wanted to do. I don’t think I even spent an actual full year before I told myself teaching wasn’t for me. So I majored in something else.

Nearly half a life time later I’ve found myself volunteering to teach preschoolers and wanting to foster to adopt toddlers. Maybe that has always been my calling after all? Maybe I should have committed to it when it was first put in my heart? Because now, now it’s all I can think about. Loving and teaching a little one.

It has been a very frustrating week waiting in hopes to hear something back from the State of Washington in regards to my licensing. I watch the clock waiting. I make multiple trips up the basement stairs to gain reception to check my emails. I know the chances of hearing something back right now is slim to none since I found out my licensor is on vacation until after the 4th of July. But still, I hope.

At 18 you could definitely question my commitment on what I wanted to do, what I wanted to be when I grew up. At 33 if I commit to something only God can change that course. And, as we sit patiently tick-tocking the minutes until we receive a status, I know God hasn’t changed the course. I know that we are still meant to do this. That this is how we are going to start our family. I just wish patience was something I was better at.

Until then, I stay faithful and enjoy the time I have before motherhood takes hold. Until then I will enjoy my weekend looking for treasures at garage sales and enjoying bunco night. Until then I will play softball in the sweltering heat. Until then I will visit a day care (cross your fingers guys because I think I finally found one). Until then I will camp with some amazing friends. All the while continuing to look up.

This status update is brought to you by the girl who knows that through it all I’ve learned to depend upon His word. He promised me that He would fulfill the desires of my heart, that He would give me a family. So, Lord, here I am. xoxo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

