To My Future Foster Child

My Dear Sweet Child,

I’ve been so busy with the excitement of adopting that I’ve not stopped to think about all of the littles we get the pleasure of loving for a short time. All the littles, like you, who we get to share laughter and tears with, growing pains and reaching milestones with.

I’ve been thinking of you lately. How are you? I keep wondering where you are. Are you happy? Are you safe? Or are things already scary? Are things out of control right now? I think about you as much as I think about the little that I will adopt. Because, you will always be first. You will always come into my home with the hope of going back to your family. Even though I know as soon as I lay eyes on you my heart will belong to you.

I know we won’t meet in the best of circumstances, but I am excited to meet you. I will be excited to meet you because I know you will be the glimmer of hope that God answers prayers. It’s been a little rough lately, my heart with a small hole longing for a little one to call my own. And you, my love, will give me the opportunity to love you as if you were mine. We will share in the excitement of giving you a happy and safe place to live. Even if we know that chances are you won’t want to be here, even as little as you are.

You, my darling, should know that we will do everything in our power to keep you safe as we work through the plan with your team, the team that has your best interest at heart. As we work with them we want you to know this is what we have to offer you in our home:

Safety. We will love you and protect you because being in our home means you are a part of our family. Security. There was no mistake made. No matter the time, we were meant to be a family.

A place to build roots. We understand that roots intertwine themselves into the ground building a foundation. We want to help you do that. We want you to be able to be as loud as you want or as quiet as you want. We want you to be as funny or as serious. We won’t judge you because as you figure out what you like you figure out who you are. It is then, and only then, can we transplant you into the permanency plan your team has for you.

Daily necessities. You will always have a roof over your head to keep you warm or cool. You will always have food on your plate to keep you full. You will have clothes to flash your dazzling smile and your quirky personality in. And for us, laughter, music and fun is a necessity. Those will come in bundles as we shower you with love.

Love. We understand the extreme difficulties this will be for you. Even if you don’t know it. Our primary job is to love you and love you abundantly. It isn’t for us to judge where you came from. It isn’t for us to judge how you feel or how you act (or react). We believe that God will put you in our home to show you that love is for everyone.

We haven’t even met and I am excited for the adventure that we are already on. Can you imagine when we finally meet? I am so excited for those adventures we will create. I am excited, sweet child, because I have so much to learn from you.

With all of our love,
Another Place to Come Home To

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

